President Buhari replaces Service Chiefs

Service Chiefs

President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs and appointed new officers as replacements.

This was announced on Tuesday by the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina who noted that the service chiefs have also retired from service.

The move by the President comes after several demands by Nigerians calling for the removal of the service chiefs and rejig of Nigeria’s military apparatus, following security challenges confronting the nation.

The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

ALSO READ: Governors agree to ban open, night grazing across states

The outgoing Service Chiefs are General Abayomi Olonisakin, Chief of Defence Staff; Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas, Chief of Naval Staff; Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai, Chief of Army Staff; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

President Buhari appreciated them for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.

He congratulated the new Service Chiefs and urged them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.