PDP Inaugurates Makinde’s Ex-Aide, Ige as D-G Central Campaign Committee for Alawode’s Re-Election

The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in Ibadan South East local government area yesterday inaugurated the central campaign committee for the re-election bid of the Chairman of the said council, Hon. Emmanuel Oluwole Alawode in preparation for the local government election slated for Saturday 27th April, 2027 in Oyo State.

The inauguration ceremony was witnessed by the Oyo State Governor, Engr Seyi Makinde who was represented by his Senior Special Assistant on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Hon. (Mrs) Ramata Agberemi Dabo (RAD) who lauded the visionary leadership of the council Chairman, Hon. Emmanuel Alawode and described the choice of his immediate past Special Adviser on Culture and Tourism, Hon. Akeem Ademola Ige as the Director-General that will lead the campaign committee as the best decision considering Hon. Ige’s pedigree and antecedents as a frontline grassroot mobiliser that has always led any campaign teams to victory for the party.

Governor Makinde charged him and other erudite politicians that were selected as members of the committee to work as a team in order to ensure another victory for the party in all the 12 wards in the said council area.

While inaugurating the 42 man committee at the ceremony held at the conference hall of the council Secretariat, Mapo, Ibadan, the party Chairman, Engr. Sulaiman Adesina (a.k.a. World Best) stated that members that were chosen are politicians that have distinguished themselves in election matters in Ibadan South East local government in the past, adding that among them were those that led the campaign committee for re-election of the Oyo State Governor, Engr Makinde in last year’s general election.

In his short remark, the council Chairman, Hon. Emmanuel Oluwole Alawode (a.k.a. Arole Omi tuntun) thanked members of the committee for accepting their nominations, stressing that he was optimistic that they were up to the task of carrying out an issue based campaign that will lead to victory for the party in the upcoming local government polls.

He assured the committee members that he would run an all inclusive government that will benefit all if elected for a second term in office.

In his acceptance speech, the Director-general of the committee, Hon. Ademola Ige said that he wholeheartedly accepted to lead the committee and pledged that he alongside other members are ready to work towards the victory of the Chairmanship candidate and other 12 ward councillors in the said election.

The campaign committee includes Hon. Sunday Babatunde, Hon. Temitope Yusuff, Hon. Mutairu Iyiola, Hon. Bimbo Adepoju, Hon. Iyabo Kobiowu, Mrs Bola Sunshine, Alh. Kazeem Watimagbo, Alh. Kazeem Adedeji, while Hon. Saheed Olanrewaju the local government party secretary will serve as Secretary of the committee.

Special prayers were offered for the committee by some Christian clerics for a smooth and violence free campaign.