Oyo APC adopts consensus for Ward congress

Kwara APC inaugurates chairmen, Ogun APC appeal committee, APC to conduct LGs' congresses, O to ge crumbles, In Kwara, Oyo APC adopts consensus, Lagos APC treasurer dies

The All Progressives Congress (APC) in Oyo State, has opted for the consensus option in picking its representatives at the ward level in the election slated for tomorrow, Saturday 31st July 2021.

Chairman of the state congress endorsed by the party Caretaker/Extraordinary National Convention Planning Committee, Alhaji Gambo Lawal, while speaking at the APC new secretariat, hinted that the committee had met with all the stakeholders and that the party will adopt the consensus option to elect party representatives in all the 351 wards across the state.

The party had sent the committee to conduct the election in Oyo State. Alhaji Lawal, who led members of the state congress committee to a press conference in the Oke-Ado area of Ibadan, told journalists that the congresses will hold as scheduled.

Rulers’ World reports Alhaji Lawal was responding to a query on the legality of its Caretaker/Extraordinary National Convention Planning Committee following Wednesday’s split judgment at the Supreme Court, which upheld the victory of the Ondo State Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu.

The pronouncement by three of the seven Supreme Court justices against the competence of the committee led by the Yobe State Governor, Mai Mala Buni, sparked a frenzy among party stakeholders with some members calling on the governor to step aside to “save the party” from a possible big fall.

Other members of the committee are; Hon. Friday Sanni, Hon. Daily Gambari, Hon. Isah Mohammed, Hon. Akintunde Adeboye, Hon. Corunna Jacob, Hon. Adams Isah, and Hon. Ephraim Bonbon.