OYHA ex-Chief Whip, Lafisoye emerges Lagelu/Akinyele APC’s Reps candidate

A former chief whip in the Oyo State House of Assembly, Hon. Lafisoye Akinmoyede Wasiu today emerged as the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for Lagelu/Akinyele federal constituency ahead of the 2023 general elections.

Hon. Lafisoye popularly called ‘Lafi’ was elected during the party’s primary election for aspirants for House of Representatives held at Lalupon in the presence of the men of the Nigerian police, Civil Defense, Federal road safety corps, DSS, INEC and other relevant security agencies.

Lafisoye who polled 92 votes out of 97 total votes cast to defeat Hazzan Olawale Giwa, who scored 1 vote, Olasupo Phillips David polled 1 vote while Adeyemo Modinat Temitope scored zero while three votes were voided.

The election which was held under peaceful atmosphere was monitored by the INEC representatives in Lagelu and Akinyele local government areas, Abiade M.A. and Nosiru K.A. and House of Representatives Election Committee members of the APC, Ishola Akeem A. Oduwole Oluwatosin and Akinyinka Akinola. They all signed the election result alongside the representatives of the security agencies.

In his acceptance speech, Hon. Lafisoýe expressed his appreciation to all the leaders and delegates of the party for their support and confidence they reposed in him, promising to justify that confidence if elected.

He specifically appreciated the incumbent representative in the said federal constituency, Hon (Sir) George Oluokun Akintola, party Chairmen for Lagelu and Akinyele, Hon. Awoyoola Sunday and Engr. Akinbode Emmanuel, all party executives, ward chairmen and leaders including Hon.Mukaila Ambali, Asiwaju Yemi Aderibigbe, Hon. Joshua Oyebamiji (Atiku) APC Oyo Central senatorial Chairman, Hon. Murphy Adigun, Hon. Akinpade Joseph Ayobami, the Legacy Group led by Baba Kolubo and others.

He equally appreciated all the party leaders in Lagelu Local Government including Pa Kehinde Balogun, Hon. D.A. Lawal, Hon. Tayo Oyetunji, Revd. Akinfenwa, Pa Amoo, Hon. Kehinde Adeleke, Hon. Moshood Lawal, Hon. Taofeek Arowomole, Hon. Akeem Aransi, Hon. Biodun Oladejo, Professor Oyewo Adeyemo, Lekan Odunade and all the local working committees of the party and his supporters that stood by him during the struggle to clinch the party’s ticket, promising to give the constituency adequate representation after his victory in the 2023 elections.

He also commended the efforts of the men of the security agencies including the Area Commander Moniya, Mopol 4 Oyo State, and all the Divisional Police Officers under the Moniya area command at forestalling any violence that might erupted during the conduct of the said election.

Hon. Lafisoye Akinmoyede was a member of the Oyo State 8th Assembly where he represented Lagelu State constituency. He was also a former two term Chairman in Lagelu local government area.