LG Poll: OYSIEC shifts Ido election to May 26 as PDP wins 32 Out Of 33 LGs

The Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC) has shifted the local government election in Ido Local Government Area to May 26.

The OYSIEC Chairman, Mr Isiaka Olagunju (SAN) disclosed this on Sunday in Ibadan.

It was reported that the OYSIEC had on Saturday suspended election in the council area due to the omission of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) logo in the ballot paper.

The commission had after its meeting on Saturday announced Sunday, May 23, for the election.

Olagunju said the commission had picked Sunday for the election, having been assured by the contractor that newly printed ballot papers would be ready for Sunday.

He, however, said the ballot papers were just delivered Sunday morning few minutes to the ongoing declaration of results from the remaining 32 council areas where the election held.

He accepted responsibility for the inconveniences caused by the omission of the ZLP in the ballot paper.

Also, Olagunju declared the PDP candidate winners following the presentation of results by the returning officers for local government areas at the state office of the Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC), Ibadan, on Sunday.


Among those returned as Chairman-elect are Omirinde Sarafadeen, Saki West LG; Raheem Adepoju, Oorelope LG; Akanji Kabiru, Ogbomoso North LG; Oyedokun Oyeniyi, Ogbomoso South LG; Julianah Oluwakemi, Ogooluwa LG; Taoheed Adedigba, Akinyele LG; Yusuf Shuaibu, Ibadan North LG; Kafilat Olakojo, Atiba LG; Gbadamosi Kazeem, Lagelu LG.

Olagunju also restated the commission’s commitment to free, fair, and credible elections.