APC extends Buni’s tenure as caretaker chairman

Anti-Buni forces face Supreme Court, APC congresses July 31, APC postpones congress, APC extends Buni’s tenure
Yobe State Governor, Mai Mala Buni

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has extended the tenure of Governor Mai Mala Buni-led Caretaker Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee.

The latest development was disclosed by the Director-General, Press and Media Affairs to Governor Buni of Yobe State, Mamman Mohammed, via a statement on Friday.

Buni had earlier on Friday visited President Muhammadu Buhari at the Presidential Villa, where he presented a report of the committee to him.

The caretaker committee was put together on June 25, 2020, following the sack of APC National Chairman, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole, by a court.

The committee was given the mandate to stabilise APC and organise a convention to bring in a new National Working Committee (NWC) of the ruling party within six months.

The tenure of the Buni-led committee was, however, extended by six months.

The members of the committee include Governor Mai Bala Buni (Yobe) Chairman, Governor Isiaka Oyetola of Osun State (South West), Ken Nnamani (South East), Stella Okorete – Women Rep, Governor Sani Bello (North Central), Dr. James Lalu (Physically challenged).

Others are Sen. Abubakar Yusuf (Senate Rep), Hon. Akinyemi Olaide (House of Reps), David Lyon (South-South), Abba Ari (North West), Prof. Tahir Mamman (North East), Ismail Ahmed (Youths), and Sen. Akpan Udoedehe (Secretary).

ALSO READ: JUST IN: Ayade dumps PDP for APC, gives reasons for defection